4 New Gluten Free Products That I Recommend

I’ve fallen a little behind in the review department.  Rather than a separate post for each new product, I thought I would just review them all in one post.

1) Bakery on Main Gourmet Naturals Apple Pie, Strawberry Shortcake and Maple Multigrain Instant Oatmeal- I have always loved oatmeal. It’s the ultimate breakfast comfort food. When I was diagnosed with Celiac I had to give it up. If you have Celiac wheat, rye, oats and barley are off limits. I haven’t really missed rye or barley but I sure miss oatmeal and wheat. The jury is still not out on whether or not oats are harmful to people with Celiac. Some people are able to eat regular oats without any problems. Some people, like myself, choose to avoid them to be on the safe side. Bakery on Main has solved the problem for those of us who choose to abstain. Gluten free oats!! They sent me a free sample of each flavor to try.  Their oats are certified gluten free. They make 3 flavors of instant oats (see above) and they remind me of the Quaker Instant Oats brand which are not gluten free. Just add water and the oatmeal is ready in about 3 minutes. Each serving contains 6 grams of protein, the same amount of protein in an egg.  The taste is authentic  and the texture is very smooth and creamy. I love the fact that they add chia seeds and flax, (so I don’t have to) and they also include the super grains quinoa and amaranth. Very yummy and filling! Oh..and I love their packaging. Oatmeal is a bit high in carbs so I don’t eat this every day for breakfast and sometimes I eat it as dessert if I haven’t had too many carbs that day. Add a scoop of almond or sunflower butter for a little extra protein. Delicious and nutritious!

2) Bumble Bar Organic Sesame Bar-  I recommend going to their website to read their mission statement.  This is a company that does not just talk the talk, but walks the walk.  Their bars are vegan, kosher, organic and gluten free. They use brown rice syrup as a sweetener and the main ingredients are brown rice and sesame seeds. The main flavor that comes through is that of sesame seeds. It reminds me of a candy bar on the market that is mainly sesame seeds but this one is good for you. I am kind of tired of gluten free snack bars that contain fruit and nuts. They all pretty much taste the same to me. The sesame seeds give these bars a nice crunch and flavor. I received a free sample of the chocolate mint, chocolate peanut butter and lushus (sic) lemon to try. I really liked them all but the lemon flavor is my favorite so far (they make 12 different flavors so you never get bored). Each bar contains 40% of the RDA for Vitamin E. I plan on bringing a few along on hikes (if the weather ever warms up here in Seattle) for a little energy boost. Delicious, nutritious, and kind of addictive!

3) Chebe Original Cheese Bread mix- I pretty much avoid bread these days because 1- I try to eat low carb and 2- gluten free bread is pretty bad with the exception of  Udi’s.  I received free samples of Chebe’s gluten free Original Cheese Bread Mix, Focaccia and Pizza Crust Mix. I haven’t had a chance to make all of them yet but I did make the Original Cheese Bread Mix last night.  The instructions could not be easier.  You add oil, a cup of shredded cheese (I used a sharp cheddar), 2 large eggs and some water. Then  you knead the dough for about 5 minutes, divide into 16 balls  and bake for 25 minutes.  My apartment smelled so good while they were baking…I could barely wait for them to finish. I tried one fresh out of the oven and knew I was in trouble. How was I going to stop at just one…or two. I summoned up all my will power and stopped at 2 which I ate with a bowl of vegetable soup. They are really good! The outside texture is a little crunchy and the inside is chewy like bread with gluten. I made them into little dinner sized rolls but I imagine you could make them into sandwich rolls as well.  I think next time I will sprinkle some grated parmesan cheese on top to make them a little more decadent. If you have been disappointed with gluten free bread options you will be delighted with these. I can’t wait to try their pizza crust and focaccia.

4) Enjoy Life Double Chocolate Crunch Nut and Gluten Free Granola- it’s really hard to find a product that is free of all of the most common allergens…..wheat/dairy/peanut/tree nut/egg and soy FREE but the folks at Enjoy Life have many products for you to try. I was sent a free sample of their double chocolate crunch granola…….yes, chocolate flavored! If you like your granola super crunchy you will love this. It’s yummy with a little coconut or almond milk, sprinkled on top of yogurt or even blended into a smoothie for added texture. Each 1/2 cup serving contains 3 grams of protein, 70% of the RDA of thiamine and 45% of the RDA of  iron. Did I mention it is super crunchy (caveat..be careful eating this out of the bag if you have a tendency to easily lose fillings). This granola is made with brown rice flakes instead of oatmeal. It is not a low carb food either so  tread lightly if you are trying to lose weight.

This entry was posted in Celiac, Diet, Gluten free, Healthy Snacks, Miscellaneous, Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 4 New Gluten Free Products That I Recommend

  1. Liz Ward says:

    I am happy you liked my creations! -Liz, BumbleBar Founder

Leave a Reply

