Bathing Suit Season

Those 3 words make the average woman cringe. Here it is, May already!!  That leaves approximately 30 days for some of us to lose those excess pounds we put on this winter.  And unless you live in San Diego or Hawaii where you can wear shorts all year long, you’ve probably been a little lax about getting in shape.

Before you panic over the thought of getting into a bathing suit this summer  know that you are not alone. The average person puts on about 5 lbs or more throughout the winter. And the majority of folks out there have such busy lives that their main concern is just getting through their day. Ask most people why they overeat and they will probably say it’s due to stress. A lot us overeat to self medicate. Food, especially sugar, affects the seratonin levels in our brains and makes us feel good. Your boyfriend just broke up with you? Nothing beats some freshly baked cookies or cake. But the problem is how you feel after you’ve eaten everything in sight.

Two very important things to keep in mind……

1) Stop beating yourself up. What’s done is done. What matters is what you do from this point on.

2) You’ve lost weight before, you know you can do it. Everyone can.  The hard part is keeping it off. Next I will address what I feel is the main key to losing weight and keeping it off.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Diet and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bathing Suit Season

  1. Olivia says:

    I am going to Hawaii in a few weeks and your post really hit home. I was trying on bathing suits today and was so depressed when I left. I put on about 10 lbs this year because my mom was sick and I was stress eating. I am tempted to try the HGH diet because you supposedly can lose the most weight in the least amount of time. How do you feel about this diet? I am looking forward to your tips. I need all the help I can get!

  2. Debbie Cohen says:

    Hi Olivia-

    If you are referring to the diet where they give you hormone shots I don’t have anything positive to say, sorry. I know someone who went on this diet. It was expensive and she was miserable and cranky the entire time. She did lose a lot of weight at first and then, sadly, put it all back on plus another 10 lbs,. within 2 months of stopping the diet. Frankly, I think this type of diet is a bit insane. You can only eat 500 calories a day and you would lose the weight on a 500 calorie a day diet even without the hormone injections. 500 calories a day is starvation mode and will have deleterious effects on your body. Stay tuned to my blog as I will be giving you tips I have used over the years to get and stay slim. Hang in there!

  3. extremechocoholic says:

    Olivia-

    I agree. Stay away from that diet. It’s not healthy.

Leave a Reply

