My guilty pleasure

I have an addiction and it’s not a healthy one. I am addicted to the Real Housewives of ___________. I know this is not productive and that the time I spend watching this show could be put to better use…say….reading a good book. But at 10 PM sometimes I just want to veg and be entertained.

So I was watching the show last night, the orange version, and they showed the housewives sitting down to a big ol’ Texas BBQ dinner.  When they each had a taste of the pecan pie you could tell they were about to have a food orgasm. It was obvious these women have been depriving themselves of anything fattening or sugary for quite some time. Understandable…they are on TV and it is Orange County after all and it’s de-riguer to look hot.  But when Alexis started putting ketchup on the dessert it became obvious this woman has a real problem. She then admitted she had an eating disorder and by spoiling a sugary food with ketchup she was dousing the flames so to speak and would not eat it.

This is not the first time I have heard of women doing this. And it saddens me. As many as 10 million women and girls suffer from anorexia and/or bulimia, in the United States alone and that number is growing every day. As women we are bombarded with images of perfect Victoria’s Secret models on TV and in the media every day. The message is “be thin, be happy”.  Alongside those images on TV are commercials for mostly junk food.  As I watched this show I wondered how many women would now copy this insane practice of squirting ketchup on the pint of ice cream they were eating so they would be forced to stop.

STOP THE INSANITY PEOPLE!!

There is nothing wrong with wanting to have a perfect body, like Alexis. But you need to be realistic. If you are large boned and 5 feet tall you are never going to look like her. And keep in mind the woman spends half her day working out and a lot of money on plastic surgery.

The point I am trying to make here is that it’s perfectly healthy to want to look your best. But set realistic goals…for YOU. And once you set those goals realize that you can achieve them by eating healthy most of the time,  having a piece of pecan pie some of the time and you can do this without developing an eating disorder.

This entry was posted in Diet and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My guilty pleasure

  1. annamorrison26 says:

    I am also addicted to the show and I noticed that as well. Her hubby seems like the type that would dump her if she had a little cellulite. My daughter is already showing signs of a possible eating disorder and it is really upsetting to me. Having food issues myself I have probably had a negative effect on her.

  2. Debbie Cohen says:

    Hi Anna:
    It saddens me to hear that and I hope that is not the case, but if it is an issue you may have discovered it early enough to get her some professional help. I wish you and your daughter the best

Leave a Reply

