What’s the one thing…..

Occasionally someone asks me what is the one thing I can do to be as healthy as possible. Should I give up coffee, sugar…take vitamins, what? If I had to pick just one thing I would recommend that everyone get a juicer.  You can’t even compare juice from a carton to freshly prepared juice. The juice you get at the supermarket has probably been sitting on the shelf for God knows how long. I consider it dead food. And even if it doesn’t have added sugar it does contain fructose. You are consuming a lot of sugar without any of the benefits of the fruit.

When you juice a fruit or vegetable and drink it right away you are consuming vitamins, mineral, enzymes and trace minerals. These have an alkalizing effect on the body which is beneficial.

I have had several juicers over the years and the one I am using now is an Omega juicer. It is a masticating juicer as opposed to a centrifugal juicer. The masticating juicers have either single or twin gears and none of the juice is wasted. It produces a very dry pulp.

With a high speed juicer the blade spins at up to several thousand RPMs which generates heat and the juice has a frothy quality to it which mixes in air. The vitamins and enzymes are very sensitive and can be destroyed in the process.

While the initial purchase of a decent juicer can be costly, it should be considered an investment in your good health.  And the nice thing about juicers is that should you ever decide to re-sell it (in case you want to upgrade), it retains most of it’s resale value.

Now I already can hear you moaning…. “I don’t have the time for this. I have to cut up vegetables, juice them and then clean the machine.” I have timed this whole process and it takes no more than 10 minutes from start to finish.  You could use the 10 minutes it takes to drink your first cup of coffee in the morning.

My favorite juice is the one I call the Kitchen sink. I call it that because I use whatever I have around that is fresh. Usually that means a few carrots, maybe a beet, some celery and some bitter greens like kale or chard. To cut the bitter taste I put in a little orange or apple and a teeny bit of stevia powder. I have come to absolutely love the taste of this juice and my body craves it.

Oh and most importantly, make sure the fruits and vegetables you juice are organic, otherwise you will be negating the good effects with the toxic pesticide residue.

I feel like this is the best way, nutrition-wise, to start off my day. What are some of your favorite juice concoctions?

"A little more to the left please"

This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What’s the one thing…..

  1. I am still sad that when my mom died I didn’t keep her juicer. I can’t remember what kind it was but it was a biggie that was almost commercial-grade. I think she paid over $200 for it in the 70’s. I don’t drink a lot of juice but when I do I still think of that juicer 🙂 I don’t drink enough juice to justify replacing that one.

    • Debbie Cohen says:

      Actually due to the fact that it’s so concentrated you don’t need to drink multiple glasses per day. I would say 2 glasses a day is ideal but even I don’t get around to that. It isn’t meant to be used like a beverage the way most people drink juice. I so enjoy the taste that I look forward to it everyday. Sometimes you can find good quality juicers on CraigsList for half of the original price but they are usually gone fast.

      p.s. It’s nice that it reminds you of your mom 😉

  2. extremechocoholic says:

    I’ve been looking for a juicer on CL for a while now. They are gone almost immediately after someone puts up a post. I am determined to find one though since I love fresh carrot juice.

Leave a Reply

