Let them eat cake…and bread…and bagels

I started this blog because I am passionate about food and nutrition and helping people to lose weight and be healthy. My main focus will be on weight loss but I believe that weight loss and good nutrition go hand in hand.  So I will mostly be posting diet and nutrition tips.

Occasionally I will intersperse some posts about Celiac disease. I was diagnosed with Celiac disease about 6 years ago, but I suspect I have had it most of my adult life. If someone has any sort of digestive disorder or nutrient absorption problem I always suggest they talk to their doctor about getting tested.

1 in 100 people have Celiac. Celiacs cannot eat wheat. Many people confuse celiac with a wheat allergy but it is actually an auto-immune disease. Wheat (and rye, oats and barley) contain a protein called gliadin. If you have this disease and you eat wheat then your body attacks itself, specifically the cilia in your small intestine where nutrients are absorbed.  Some people suffer extreme GI distress after eating wheat and others, like myself, have no symptoms until we become so deficient in a particular nutrient like iron.  Iron deficient anemia is very common among people with celiac.

If you have this disease you need to stop eating wheat completely. You can’t cheat. And some people are so sensitive that they can’t even eat foods that have come into contact with wheat, what they call cross contamination. It’s not a fun disease to have but if you look at it from a positive perspective, at least we know what we need to do to stop suffering. We will never be completely cured but we WILL get better if we stop eating wheat.

So occasionally I will be reviewing a product that is gluten free. A few years ago there were a few options for gluten-free baked products but they were awful. They made good doorstoppers or paperweights and that’s about it. But lately, as Celiac is becoming more well known, there are new products on the market every month. And some are pretty darn good.

I’m Jewish. I grew up on bagels and finding a good bagel outside NYC is hard sometimes. Finding a good gluten free bagel…… fagedaboudit! Until now that is……

Udi’s gluten free bagels taste like the real thing. When fresh they have a very chewy texture which gluten free products usually lack because it’s the gluten that makes breads chewy after all.  They are made from the following ingredients:

FILTERED WATER, BROWN RICE FLOUR, TAPIOCA STARCH, CANOLA OR SUNFLOWER OIL, EGG WHITES, POTATO STARCH, EVAPORATED CANE JUICE, TAPIOCA MALTODEXTRIN, XANTHAN GUM, TAPIOCA SYRUP OR   BROWN RICE SYRUP, YEAST, SALT, MOLD INHIBITOR (CULTURED CORN SYRUP, CITRIC ACID), ENZYMES. CONTAINS: EGGS

They cost about $6 for 4 bagels which might seem a little pricey but they are worth it. They are great toasted with a little butter or topped with some almond butter. And the other day I had a toasted Udi’s bagel with lox and cream cheese and thought I died and went to heaven. Toasted they are very light and delicious. When gluten free bagels first hit the market they were very hard and dense. These are crisp on the outside and soft on the inside when toasted and not dense at all. When I eat them I stop feeling sorry for myself. They also come in cinnamon raisin if you like your bagels a little on the sweet side. They also make other products which I will be reviewing in the near future.

This entry was posted in Celiac, Nutrition and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let them eat cake…and bread…and bagels

  1. extremechocoholic says:

    I don’t have Celiac but a dear friend of mine does. One day she was eating a muffin and I thought she had gone off her gluten free diet because it looked like a regular muffin but she said it was gluten free. I tasted it and it was delicious!!! If I had not known it was gluten free I would never have guessed. It was an Udi’s blueberry muffin. Have you tried them?

  2. Debbie Cohen says:

    Hi Extreme-

    Yes, I have tried them. I was going to write a review about their muffins soon. They are addictive. I agree, you can’t tell the difference. I wish I had one right now!

Leave a Reply

