Don’t shop when you are ready to drop…..

I  was watching a t.v. show the other night about a woman who was obese…well maybe obese is putting it mildly. I think she weighed over 700 lbs. They need to come up with a new term because I don’t think obese cuts it. This poor woman was insisting that contrary to popular belief, obese people do not eat a ton of food. She claimed she was not eating enormous amounts of food all day long. Ummm…okay. I’ll give her the benefit of the doubt, that there are serious endocrine problems involved. But I can almost guarantee that she is eating the wrong foods. There is no way someone could become that obese by eating tons of lettuce and carrots.

Is she entirely to blame for her predicament? Well yes and no. As I mentioned in a previous post, life is all about choices and she obviously chose food over everything else in her life. And she may very well have a hormonal imbalance. But there are other forces, like the food and advertising industry, that seem to want us to make us fat. And if we are overweight we usually have a couple of diseases that require medications that support the drug industry.

Let’s face it. The American diet is out of control and its designed that way on purpose. The food industry is a very powerful industry. I could do an entire blog about the psychology behind the marketing of food but here is one fact you may not know. Large supermarkets design their shelves to get you to buy as much junk food as possible. They put the milk, eggs and TP towards the back of the store so you have to go up and down the aisles to get to it. They hope you will make unhealthy impulse purchases on the way. They put the fruits and veggies on the outside aisles so you don’t have to walk by them unless you need something specific.

Many of us shop after work when we are stressed and tired and its easy to make poor food choices under those conditions. If possible try not to shop at the end of the day when you are tired. And always go shopping with a list and try and stick to it. It’s really  important that you do not bring junk food home with you. If you have it in the house…get rid of it. The best guarantee you won’t binge is if you have a house full of healthy snacks. I don’t know about you but when I do get a craving for junk food, if it’s not in my apartment I am not going to go out and get it. I’m too lazy in that respect. So I will eat what I have and I try to keep only low calorie or complex carbs around.

If your excuse is that you keep it around for your husband/wife or kids, then you should re-evaluate why they are eating junkfood. Just because they can eat it and not gain weight is not a good excuse for it being there. And it’s important that your loved ones support you on your journey towards becoming as healthy as can be.

This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t shop when you are ready to drop…..

  1. Kas says:

    Great, great tips. I try to go grocery shopping without Justin, otherwise we come home with cookies, chips, soda (empty calories), Hamburger Helper (ack!), etc. When I go by myself, I manage to bring home a pretty healthy menu. I never even thought of how grocery stores are laid out — you’re observations are dead on and it’s troubling to think about how the food industry really brainwashes alot of people.

    • Debbie Cohen says:

      Thank you! It’s all comfort food and we all need some comforting every day 😉 I say as long as you eat the healthier versions within moderation it’s not that bad occasionally. Maybe Justin will like the roasted seaweed.

Leave a Reply

