Guilt- free healthy snack #1- Roasted seaweed

It’s funny how our tastes change as we get older. I used to HATE ginger with a passion. And Cilantro. Now I can’t get enough of either. If I go to a sushi restaurant I could make a meal out of the pickled ginger. And Cilantro used to taste like soap to me, now I love it in my salsa.

My latest addiction, and thank God it’s a healthy one, is roasted seaweed. I used to hate it and wondered why on earth anyone would want to eat the stuff that washes up on the beach. Now it’s my go-to snack when I crave something salty. They come in small sheets, about 4×3 inches, and contain seaweed, canola oil, sesame oil and sea salt. One package contains 60 calories, 4 grams of fat and 2 carbs (of which those 2 are fiber so they have no impact on blood sugar). They are slightly salty and crunchy and have a very mild taste of the sea.

Seaweed packs a huge nutriti0nal punch. Some of the nutrients in seaweed include organic vitamins, trace minerals, lipids, plant sterols, amino acids, omega-3 and omega-6, anti-oxidants, growth hormones, polyphenols, and flavonoids. All seaweeds are low in fat, but several varieties contribute small amounts of healthful omega-3 fatty acids. Each serving (there are 2 per package) supplys us with 8% of the RDA for vitamin A, 20% of vitamin C and 2% of iron.

If you like your sushi wrapped in seaweed (nori) you will probably love this snack. I’ve tried a few brands including Trader Joe’s which is good but I think I prefer Annie Chun’s brand the best. It is the most flavorful. And for you masochists out there they make a “wasabi” flavor.

This entry was posted in Healthy Snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Guilt- free healthy snack #1- Roasted seaweed

  1. Kas says:

    I absolutely LOVE seaweed so I will definitely have to give these a try. And I do love some wasabi 🙂

    • Debbie Cohen says:

      Let me know how you like it. And Sienna actually loves it! I know a little is okay for a dog but not sure about a lot so I only give her 1/2-1 sheet a day. Enjoy!

  2. extremechocoholic says:

    I bought some of the Annie Chun’s at Whole Foods yesterday. I bought the regular ssesame and the wasabi. The wasabi was delicious but like any food with wasabi I found I could only eat a little. The other flavor is downright addicting, you were right. And when you eat it its almost like eating a potato chip. Yumm-o!

Leave a Reply

