Guilt-free healthy snack #4 Blueberries

I heart blueberries…especially in muffins. But I choose to eat low carb so I can’t indulge very often, even in the gluten-free version. But  I love blueberries as a snack. If they are in season they satisfy my craving for something sweet. I measure out a cup and keep them on my desk to munch on. Blueberries are low in calories (about 83 per cup) and relatively low in carbs (about 17 “net” carbs per cup) with 4 grams of fiber.

Blueberries have so many health benefits…. but I’ll just list a few here. Blueberries are among the highest anti-oxidant value fruits and are rich in the natural pigment anti-oxidant, proanthocyanidins, anti-oxidants proven to have positive effects on capillary fragility (easy bruising), varicose veins, macular degeneration, and diabetic vascular disease. They have powerful anti-inflammatory effects as well.

For such a tiny little food they pack such a healthy punch.

This entry was posted in Diet, Healthy Snacks, Nutrition and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guilt-free healthy snack #4 Blueberries

  1. Kas says:

    Oh my goodness I LOVE blueberries. They are better than candy!

Leave a Reply

