Sample diary #1

Dear readers:

I apologize for the long break. As you know…life happens..but as promised I will be posting food diaries that I received from my blog readers.

The first diary I received is from a  33 year old female living in California. She is 5’3″ tall and weighs approximately 140 lbs. She wrote that she would like to lose 10-15 lbs. She lives by herself and frequently works 10-12 hour days. Due to the fact that she lives alone she she rarely cooks for herself and frequently gets food to go from her local supermarket.

Here is a re-post of her diary for 1 day and my comments:

Breakfast: Tall latte from Starbucks with 3 Splenda, yogurt parfait with granola and fruit

  • (The latte contains caffeine and about 200 empty calories. There is some protein in the milk. I have mixed feelings about coffee. It is highly acidic and the caffeine can wreck havoc on your adrenals and the hormones they produce. I think if you drink 1 cup a day and have no issues then it’s okay. But if you are like me and love the TASTE of coffee and therefore drink multiple cups…it can lead to problems. I quit coffee about 2 weeks ago. I drank only decaf but I drank too much. It was not as hard as I thought it would be)
  •  The yogurt has about 300 calories, 7 grams of protein and about 60 grams of carbs. That’s alot of carbs. It also has the same amount of sugar and protein as a Snickers bar. I don’t know what kind of yogurt they use but I’m going to assume it does have some active yogurt cultures. So the difference between this parfait and a Snickers bar is that you get some live yogurt cultures and some vitamin C and Calcium.

Snack: Nature Valley Granola bar, about 10 almonds

  • A granola bar only has 11 grams of sugar which is bad but not as bad as the yogurt parfait. It contains a little bit of iron as well. Almonds are a great healthy snack. They contain good fat (monounsaturated)  and fiber. A small serving of almonds contains 12 percent of your daily allowance of protein and no cholesterol. They also contain about 35% of your daily allowance of Vitamin E. 24 almonds contain about 160 calories. 

5 pieces of sushi, an apple

  • Nutrition-wise it depends on the type of sushi. If it’s the rock and Roll type of sushi with mayonnaise then it’s not as healthy as say…a piece of tuna with brown rice and seaweed. If you are going to a sushi bar best to have sashimi or the fish with brown rice and seaweed.  Can’t say anything bad about an apple 😉 (good fiber and vitamins that fill you up)

Snack: Orville Redenbachers hot air popped popcorn (There’s a woman in my office who is very sweet and almost every day she makes air popped popcorm for the office. I tell her she is evil. Of course I am joking…… she is a lovely person. But the smell of fresh buttery popcorn turns off any bit of willpower I possess and I have to have just one piece…which of course turns into a handful. and then depending on how fast I get to it…maybe most of the bowl. )

  •  Salty snacks are literally hard to resist and hard to stop eating once you start. So I recommend not starting. The popcorn has a little bit of protein but it’s basically all carbs and high on the glycemic index. And there are usually unhealthy chemicals added as a preservative.

Dinner: 1/2 a rotisserie chicken, a  baked potato with 1 pat of low cal margarine, small salad of lettuce and tomato with Kraft low cal Thousand Island dressing

  • Chicken, provided it is organic and broiled or poached is a good choice for protein for dinner. Best to cut off the skin and throw it away.  A baked potato is a vegetable but it’s not my first choice because its mostly starch and highly caloric…about 275 calories and 65 carbs for a large potato. However, it is a good source of Vitamin C, Vitamin B6, Potassium and Manganese. Just not the best choice if one is trying to lose weight. Best to substitute with a green veggie like broccoli, swiss chard or kale.
  • The salad is fine but the dressing is loaded with salt and chemicals. She would be better off using a little olive oil and vinegar and herbs. And a better choice than lettuce and tomatoes would be some raw veggies like carrots, broccoli etc.

Dessert- medium sized TCBY low-fat frozen yogurt

  • Many people think because something is low-fat, that it’s good for you and good for your diet. But foods that are low fat are usually high in sugar. This frozen yogurt has at least 20 grams of sugar.  Yes, it tastes good and can be filling. I ought to know, I used to be addicted. But I got into trouble when I used to replace a meal with a frozen yogurt.  If you want to have a frozen yogurt a few nights a week as a dessert and after you’ve had a decent meal then go for it. It can’t hurt. However, better to replace this with a piece of fruit or fruit salad. Or even better ……a cup of blueberries over some blended cottage cheese with cinamon and some Stevia.

I estimate she consumed about 2300 total calories this day. Now if the 2300 calories were made up of good fats and healthy organic foods I would give her a gold star but she has not even come close to consuming the RDA of  fruits and veggies so I give her diet a “C”.

This entry was posted in Diet, Healthy Snacks, Miscellaneous, Nutrition. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sample diary #1

  1. Very interesting. I rarely give what I eat that much thought as to the nutrition involved. I mainly eat what tastes good. Thank you for your insight. I will get a food diary going and send it to you shortly.

Leave a Reply

