On a lighter note…..

I love to read fiction but these days I especially enjoy reading non-fiction.  Specifically anything on the topic of nutrition. I have a bit of ADD so frequently you will find me reading 3 books at once. Right now I am reading 3 books about how we are poisoning ourselves with the foods we eat and the medication we take. I’ll be honest…it’s depressing me a little. I eventually want to share with you some of the highlights of what I have read but for now I thought it would be fun to post some new pictures of the light of my life…Sienna. Here’s a picture of her in her Halloween costume on her way to a Halloween event for dogs.

Here’s another picture of her at a party with her doxie friends. The host served yogurt for dogs called Yoghund. Is it just me or does she have a really human look to her? Something about her eyes….. Needless to say she is a big fan of Yoghund yogurt for dogs. Actually Sienna is a big fan of just about any food, except for maybe raw kale (can you blame her)? I found out this little tidbit of info about dogs recently which might explain things…

Dogs have about 1,700 taste buds and over 220 million smell receptors and
humans have about 9,000 taste buds and something like 5 million smell receptors.

Although dogs do have a sense of taste (their taste buds are mostly on the tip of their tongue) it is not as strong as their sense of smell (seen in the numbers above); most of the information they get from food is first from smell then second, from taste.

Interesting, huh? I guess this explains why I can be in the kitchen and she can be fast asleep under the covers in my bedroom and as soon as take a small piece of treat out of her treat jar (being as quiet as a church mouse), she comes running into the kitchen every time.

And one more of her sleeping with her little teddy bear. This teddy bear has since had the stuffing ripped out of it. It is looking a little deflated these days

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

