Foods I Can’t Live Without Series #2 – Sunbutter

There are some foods you never outgrow your cravings for….peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, french fries,  Captain Crunch cereal, candy.  Fortunately the majority of us are much smarter about nutrition these days. For me, baked sweet potatoes have replaced the greasy fries, oatmeal has replaced the Captain Crunch and instead of candy I snack on fruit. And my peanut butter and jelly sandwich on white bread has been replaced by a sunbutter and jam sandwich on gluten free whole wheat bread. I read about sunbutter at a blog  and the nice folks at Sunbutter were kind enough to send me a sample for free.

I love peanut butter but the truth is that peanuts contain a natural toxin that is probably not good for you so I no longer eat it. Sunbutter is made from specially roasted sunflower seeds and are completely peanut-free, tree-nut free, and gluten-free. Hear that people with peanut allergies?

I tried it straight and I like it better than peanut butter. At first taste you think…peanut butter…yum…and then you get the distinctive roasted sunflower seed aftertaste. If you are a fan of raw or roasted sunflower seeds you will love these. No hulling needed! It’s delicioso in oatmeal, on a banana, in a smoothie or on a sandwich with strawberry jam.  I would imagine it would also be delicious if you used it to make peanut butter..umm …I mean sunbutter cookies.  Sienna gives it 5 out of 5 licks.

Sunbutter also has less saturated fat than peanut butter and supplies you with about 25% of the RDA for vitamin E.  There is significant evidence vitamin E can protect against heart disease and may slow down the aging process.

This entry was posted in Celiac, Diet, Healthy Snacks, Miscellaneous, Nutrition, Pets and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

