Nothing Tastes As Good As Skinny Feels….

Thank you Kate Moss for those words of wisdom. Think of that quote next time you are about to tear open that bag of chips. A minute on the lips, a lifetime on the hips is another good one. Of course those chips are going to taste great and make you feel good while you are eating them. But once they are gone it doesn’t feel as good. Instant gratification is just that…..you feel good at that moment but as soon as that moment is over the guilt and bad feelings settle in. Try thinking long range. Imagine the thinner, healthier you and how good that is going to feel.

It’s hard to think about bathing suit season….as it seems to be so far away. But it really is only 4 months from now and 4 months is a good amount of time to give yourself to lose some weight or firm things up.

Any changes you make now, even small ones, will benefit you down the road. Most important is that you have some kind of goal and some kind of motivation. Maybe you have a vacation in Hawaii on the horizon and you want to look hot in that bikini. Or you outgrew your wardrobe and are sick and tired of wearing your fat pants (a.k.a. your sweats).  Maybe you just broke up with someone and want to lose some weight…and we all know that looking good is the best revenge 😉 Or maybe you just want to lose some weight because you know you feel better.

Motivation + goal = success.

Personally I am focusing on my health first these days as opposed to how thin I will be come bathing suit season. I find that eating healthy and staying trim seem to go hand in hand. Even though I am eating twice as many calories now as when I was younger, I seem to stay within my goal weight with a 2-3 lb. range. I also find that when I eat healthy I don’t crave sugar as much.

It’s been a long winter in Seattle and I have not been able to get out and hike as much as I like but I have made sure to get myself to the gym at least 3 times a week and when that is not possible I do yoga and stretches at home. The point is to do something NOW. Procrastination is your biggest enemy.  Are there stairs in the building where you work? Try walking the stairs instead of taking the elevator.  Take the dog on a long hike. Park your car further from your destination and walk. Lack of time should not be an excuse as we make time for what is important to us.

As for diet, don’t focus so much on your caloric intake..but on what you eat. If you eat foods that are nutritionally dense and full of fiber they will add bulk and fill you up and help you to lose weight if that is your goal.

This entry was posted in Celiac, Diet, Healthy Snacks, Miscellaneous, Nutrition and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

