Foods I Can’t Live Without Series #3 – Kale (yes, kale!)

Kale is one of my new favorite foods and it seems I am not alone. Kale seems to be the new “it-girl” of the healthy foods revolution.  Kale is the new broccoli. I add it to the mix when I am juicing first thing in the morning and I love to add it to most dishes these days. Nutritionally, kale is rich in vitamins A, C, B and calcium.  It  has the highest protein content of cultivated vegetables. It does need to be either cooked or juiced to be palatable though. Raw kale is a little tough.

Yesterday for lunch I tried a new stir fry. I bought a bag of Trader Joe’s raw cauliflower, tossed it with a little bit of olive oil and sea salt and roasted it in the oven. Then I put an entire bag of TJs raw kale and mushrooms into a wok with a little olive and sesame oil and sautéed them for about 15 minutes. Then I added the roasted cauliflower which gave it a potato-like taste and texture. It looked like a huge amount of food but because it was low in fat and carbs I was not worried about eating the entire serving. I have a feeling this is going to be my “go-to” lunch a few days a week as I am already thinking about having it again for lunch today.

If you are craving carbohydrates in the form of a grain try making a large stir fry with many different vegetables and serve that over a little bit of grain. Your veggie to grain ratio should be 3-4:1. You will feel satiated and good about your choices.

Another fun way to cook kale is to make your own kale chips. Preheat an oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Line a non insulated cookie sheet with parchment paper. Wash and thoroughly dry kale with a salad spinner. Drizzle kale with olive oil and sprinkle with seasoning salt or your favorite spice. Bake until the edges brown but are not burnt about 10 to 15 minutes.

This entry was posted in Celiac, Diet, Healthy Snacks, Miscellaneous, Nutrition and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

