I’m cuckoo for coco-nuts

Did I just give away my age?

My favorite candy growing up was the Mounds bar. Yummy dark chocolate and coconut. Not exactly a healthy treat. And back then most people grouped coconut oil with unhealthy fats.

Fast forward 20 years and what a difference a few decades can make. Today coconut oil and coconut products are the new “it” foods.

I’ve been using coconut oil for it’s health benefits for the last 3 years. I put it in my tea, saute veggies in it and even use it as a moisturizer.

I recently tried 2 coconut products and would like to share them with you.

The very nice folks at Coconut Secret sent me a free sample of their raw Coconut Crystals and Coconut Liquid Aminos to try.

I’ll start with the Coconut Crystals.  First off you are probably wondering what the heck are coconut crystals .  This is from their website:

“Coconut sugar is made by collecting the “sap” from coconut tree blossoms.  Who knew?!  There are specific species of coconut trees that can be “tapped” (much like maple trees are tapped in the maple syrup making process).  Bamboo containers are used to collect the sap of the coconut trees right at the blossoms.  When the coconut trees are tapped, they produce a continuously flowing “inflorescence” (juice or sap) that exudes from the coconut blossoms.  This naturally sweet sap is very low glycemic (GI of 35), raw and enzymatically alive, an abundant source of 17 amino acids, minerals, vitamin C, broad-spectrum B vitamins, and has a nearly neutral pH. It is then minimally evaporated at low temperatures (only to remove excess moisture), never exceeding an average summer day in the tropics.  The end result is a syrup-like product known as coconut “toddy”, which is then further evaporated into crystal form to produce the coconut sugar.”

The owners of the company were looking for a low glycemic sweetener to replace agave syrup in some of their products when they came to realize that agave syrup was highly processed and not very healthy. In their search for a replacement they discovered coconut crystals.

Coconut crystals are raw (and therefore enzymatically alive), organic, gluten free, low on the glycemic index and unrefined. It has a slight molasses flavor to it (and brown color)  and surprisingly does not taste like coconut at all. It’s not overly sweet either. 1 tablespoon contains 30 calories.  I have been using stevia for many years and stevia is VERY sweet. People who do not like the bitter aftertaste of stevia and will probably like the coconut crystals. I like it in my tea but find that I need to use a few teaspoons to make it sweet enough. It does not concern me because it seems to be good for you. It is delicious in yogurt and smoothies and I like to sprinkle it on fruit. I also really liked it sprinkled on top of oatmeal.  I have not tried baking with it yet.

They also sent me a free sample of their Coconut Aminos.  Some of you may have already heard of Bragg Liquid Aminos which is made from soy. Coconut Aminos have a similar taste. It is a gluten free product, very low in calories and abundant in amino acids.  You use it as you would regular soy sauce. I used it in a saute. It has a very delicate soy flavor. I brought some with me the other night when I went out for sushi and really liked the combination.

I recommend these products because they are both nutritious and delicious and I feel good about using them.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m cuckoo for coco-nuts

  1. Denise Beard says:

    where do we get these products??? I want to try them!!!

    • Debbie Cohen says:

      Their website shows these stores carry the products but I would call ahead to make sure

      Uwajimaya Seattle
      600 Fifth Ave. S., Suite 100
      Seattle, WA 98104
      phone: (206) 624-6248

      Madison Market
      1600 E. Madison St.
      Seattle, WA 98122
      phone: (206) 329-1545

      Pcc Natural Market
      5041 Wilson Ave. S
      Seattle, WA 98118
      phone: (206) 723-2720

      Metropolitan Market
      100 Mercer St.
      Seattle, WA 98109
      phone: (206) 343-8646

      Metropolitan Market
      2320 42nd Ave. SW
      Seattle, WA 98116
      phone: (206) 937-0551

      Pcc Natural Market
      2749 California Ave. SW
      Seattle, WA 98116
      phone: (206) 937-8481

      Whole Foods Market
      2210 Westlake Ave.
      Seattle, WA 98109
      phone: (206) 621-9700

      Metropolitan Market
      1908 Queen Anne Ave. N
      Seattle, WA 98109
      phone: (206) 284-2530

      Vitamin Shoppe
      10415 NE 4th Street
      Bellevue, WA 98004
      phone: (425) 454-0581

      Whole Foods Market
      2001 15th Ave. W`
      Seattle, WA 98119
      phone: (206) 352-5440

      Pcc Natural Market
      600 N 34th St.
      Seattle, WA 98103
      phone: (206) 632-6811

      Whole Foods Market
      890 116th Ave.
      Bellevue, WA 98004
      phone: (425) 462-1400

      and of course from their website http://www.coconutsecret.com/index.html

Leave a Reply

