Mammogram? No thank you!

I am not sure why this woman in the photo is smiling since she is about the have her breast squished into the shape of a pancake which I would imagine is VERY painful.

I started studying Chinese medicine when I was in my late 30s….around the time frame recommended for a woman to start having mammograms. Intellectually I knew that mammograms were not a good idea for a number of reasons.  The radiation and physical manipulation of breast tissue that might already contain cancer cells just did not make sense to me. I am now in my 50s and I have never had a mammogram.

I rarely see a western MD, but when I do they always ask me why I won’t have a mammogram. I tell them that they do not make sense to me and that there is an alternative called breast thermography. First they look at me like I am crazy and then they promise to look into it. But I doubt any of them do.

I first had a breast thermogram about 20 years ago. The only uncomfortable part of the proceudre was sticking my hand in an ice bath for a few minutes. Other than that is it completely pain-free.

Here is a brief explanation of what breast thermography is:

“Thermography is a physiological study. The infrared camera detects the heat (infrared radiation), which is emitted by the breast without physical contact with it (no compression) and without sending any signal (no radiation). This is a receiving mode only. It shows small, unilateral temperature increases, which are caused by an increased blood supply to cancer cells. Cancer cells have an ability to create new blood vessels to the effected area (neoangiogenesis) in order to satisfy the increased demand for nutrients resulting from the higher rate of growth and metabolic demands of the new colony. It was found that even a few thousand cancer cells (early stage of the disease) secrete Nitric Oxide; a powerful vasodilator, in order to achieve the same results”

Here is a thermogram picture of a normal breast-

And one of a breast with ductal carcinoma in situ

Thermography just makes so much sense. What doesn’t make any sense is why more doctors do not recommend them. Or does it? Mammograms are an 8 billion dollar industry.

Your doctor may not recommend it and your insurance might not cover it, so it basically is up to each individual as to whether or not it is the best option. Some recommend doing both together as the best possible way to not miss any malignant cells.

Here is a good article if you would like to read more about breast thermography. http://www.creationsmagazine.com/articles/C113/Dekel.html

A little mammogram humor:

The Mammogram
By Julia Napier©

For years and years they told me,
Be careful of your breasts.
Don’t ever squeeze or bruise them.
And give them monthly tests.

So I heeded all their warnings,
And protected them by law.
Guarded them very carefully,
And I always wore my bra.

After 30 years of astute care,
My gyno, Dr. Pruitt,
Said I should get a Mammogram.
“O.K.” I said, ‘let’s do it.”

“Stand up here real close” she said,
(She got my boob in line),
“And tell me when it hurts,” she said,
“Ah yes! Right there, that’s fine.”

She stepped upon a pedal,
I could not believe my eyes!
A plastic plate came slamming down,
My hooter’s in a vise!

My skin was stretched and mangled,
From underneath my chin.
My poor boob was being squashed,
To Swedish Pancake thin.

Excruciating pain I felt,
Within it’s vise-like grip.
A prisoner in this vicious thing,
My poor defenseless tit!

“Take a deep breath” she said to me,
Who does she think she’s kidding?!?
My chest is mashed in her machine,
And woozy I am getting.

“There, that’s good,” I heard her say,
(The room was slowly swaying.)
“Now, let’s have a go at the other one.”
Have mercy, I was praying.

It squeezed me from both up and down,
It squeezed me from both sides.
I’ll bet SHE’S never had this done,
To HER tender little hide.

Next time that they make me do this,
I will request a blindfold.
I have no wish to see again,
My knockers getting steam rolled.

If I had no problem when I came in,
I surely have one now.
If there had been a cyst in there,
It would have gone “ker-pow!”

This machine was created by a man,
Of this, I have no doubt.
I’d like to stick his balls in there,
And see how THEY come out!

By Julia Napier©

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

