Bar None

I do not believe in skipping breakfast. Big mistake. Worst thing you can do. It’s important to start your day on a good note…it sets the tone for the rest of the day as far as how you eat. If you start off with a donut, I can almost guarantee, in a few hours after your blood sugar drops, you will be crazy hungry and craving more sugar and you will want to eat junk for the rest of the day.

I try to start off my day with a healthy breakfast usually involving yogurt and fruit or cottage cheese and fruit with fresh ground flax seeds. Some mornings I get a late start……usually thanks to Sienna who just refuses to do her business….and I am running late. On days like these I grab a bar…

I received free samples of the following protein bars for free for review:

Quest Natural Protein Bars– Quest Bars basically have 10 ingredients….their protein blend (Whey Protein Isolate, Milk Protein Isolate), Isomalto-Oligosaccharide (100% Natural Prebiotic Fiber), Almond Butter, Dry Roasted Almonds, Raw Almonds, Water, Natural Flavors, Sea Salt, Lo Han Guo, Sucralose. I have never seen Lo Han Guo used as a sweetener before. I did not notice any sweet taste out of the ordinary. The bars are very heavy, chewy and dense which I like because I can’t wolf it down. It takes a while to eat. You can see and taste the bits of crunchy nuts in the bars. I really liked the taste and texture. There are a whopping 11 different flavors to choose from. Each bar contains about 20 grams of protein and  20-24 grams of carb but they have 17-21 g of fiber which you can deduct from the carbs to get the net carbs. That makes these bars a great low carb choice.  I have yet to try all 11 flavors but I did try the lemon, chocolate brownie and peanut butter and jelly, all of which were very good but the lemon was my favorite.

http://questproteinbar.com/

Purefit bars do not contain dairy, wheat, or gluten. Each bar contains 18 Grams of soy protein and is non dairy.  Calorie-wise they contain about 210 calories. They are a little higher on the carb scale than other bars, weighing in at about 20-22 grams of carbs per bar. The texture is similar to the Quest bars, very chewy, but Purefit adds soy crisps, which gives it a crispiness which I really liked. Like the Quest bars these are to be eaten slowly because they are very chewy and very filling. They are based on the 40/30/30 principle to give you sustained energy

http://purefit.com/

Rise Bars– these bars pleasantly surprised me because they taste nothing like the majority of the bars on the market. First off they are dense, weighing in at almost 60g.  They are gluten free and come in a variety of flavors containing anywhere from 3-10 ingredients which are all natural. Here is an example- the coconut/acai flavor contains almonds, dates, coconut, raisins, brown rice syrup, tapioca syrup, amaranth, acai and sea salt. They make 3 different kinds of bars….energy bars, protein bars and breakfast bars. The protein bars are high in protein, the energy bars are full of fiber and antioxidants and the breakfast bars are full of fruits and nuts to get you through the day. The protein bars contain whey protein, which is a high quality type of protein and the other bars contain mainly dates and nuts. I  love dates, I could eat them like candy and that is why I absolutely love these bars.  Most bars containing nuts overdo it IMO. These bars have just the right ratio of fruit to nuts.  The blueberry coconut and raspberry pomegranate were my favorites. I am looking forward to trying all of the flavors. They are really yummy.

http://risebar.com/products/energy/

This entry was posted in Celiac, Diet, Gluten free, Healthy Snacks, Miscellaneous, Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

