Drink Your Medicine

Protein supplements used to be all the rage with body builders and still are. However these days they are more mainstream and used by folks who are vegetarian or dieting and feel they need extra protein in their diets.

I recently received the following protein supplements for free so that I could do a review.

Orgain is a nutritional shake that was designed by a doctor. They use organic ingredients such as organic whey protein, organic brown rice, omega-3’s, fiber, organic green tea and pomegranate extracts as well as 24 vitamins and minerals. Orgain Organic Protein Blend contains Organic Whey Protein Concentrate, Organic Milk Protein Concentrate and fruits and vegetables which gives it a very high anti-oxidant value. There is currently a product on the market that is given to very sick people who are unable to eat. If you read the ingredient list for that product you would be disgusted. It is loaded with sugar and oil. Why anyone would feed this to someone who is sick is beyond me. I would definitely use this product instead.   The company says it has the antioxidant  of 10 servings of fruits and veggies.  It comes packaged in a re-cylcable packaging which is nice and like a little juice box, it can be taken to school or on a hike in your back pack. I tried the sweet vanilla bean. It tastes a little like litely sweetened skim milk to me. The packaging is re-cylcable and just very convenient to carry in your bag when you need a little boost of energy. I have tried it before a work-out and it was perfect because it gave me energy and did not upset my stomach. It also comes in creamy chocolate fudge flavor which I have not yet tried. I would imagine you could also use this product as a base for a smoothie instead of milk for an added protein boost.

Sun Warrior sent me free samples of their Protein Raw Vegan mix in chocolate and vanilla and their Warrior Blend in chocolate and vanilla. The raw vegan powder is made from bio-fermented raw sprouted whole grain brown rice, not soy protein isolates which is a cheaper form of protein that most companies use. The ingredient list is small: the rice protein, cocoa, natural flavor, stevia, xanthan gum and pectin. I serving (21 g) contains only 80 calories and has 16 grams of protein, 60 mg of calcium and only 3 net carbs. I tried it mixed with coconut milk, a little ice and a banana in a blender for breakfast. I have been using stevia for years and love the taste so I was happy to see they use stevia as a sweetener. The texture was smooth and the taste was delicious! I worked out right after I drank the smoothie and it did not upset my tummy at all and I found I was not hungry again until lunch time.  I feel good about recommending this protein supplement because they use quality ingredients and it tastes good. The product is also gluten free, non GMO and hypo-allergenic. The Warrior Blend contains pea, cranberry and hemp protein and has 84 calories per 21 g and 15 grams of protein. The texture is a little smoother and also tastes delicious when blended into a smoothie. Both products gave me energy and kept me feeling full for hours. It would just be a matter of choosing the protein source to your liking…..rice protein or plant based protein.

 

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

