Bad Medicine

No one would argue that we live in a pill popping society. Given the choice, most people prefer to pop a pill then to make major lifestyle or diet changes. I personally do not know a single person who is not on at least one prescription medication.  In the name of full disclosure, I am one of them. I occasionally need to take a prescription medicine for migraines. When I was younger migraines were a daily occurrence. Now, I have a migraine maybe 2-3 times a month and I attribute the improvement to my diet.

I do not advocate drugs for chronic conditions, but if someone is in pain, then by all means they need to do what is necessary so they can get through the day. I hope one day that my diet will correct whatever imbalance exists in my body so that I can  be completely drug free. I wish more people were willing to make diet and lifestyle changes in order to heal themselves. I feel this way especially when it comes to the issue of children with ADHD.

If you have a child with ADHD I urge you to read this article and consider eliminating any foods in your child’s diet that contain these ingredients:

http://www.foodmatters.tv/articles-1/which-food-additives-make-children-behave-badly

And another eye-opening article to read in which the statistics have been obviously swept under the rug:

http://www.ritalindeath.com/Doping-Kids.htm

This entry was posted in Celiac, Diet, Gluten free, Healthy Snacks, Miscellaneous, Nutrition and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bad Medicine

  1. clownonfire says:

    Hi,
    I agree with you. I think we are trigger-happy when it comes do prescribing meds to children when it comes to AD(H)D (I write about my son’s life with ADD while being on methylphenidate: http://blackboxwarnings.wordpress.com) and think we could do so much more if we would use meds as a last resort, and opt for a healthy diet, physical activities and more natural options…
    Thanks for writing this,
    Le Clown

    • Debbie Cohen says:

      If you take any drugs I think it’s safe to say you are a guinea pig for the pharmaceutical companies. Doctors can’t say for certain a drug will work until they test it out on you and tweak the dosage. The American diet is so full of chemicals and so devoid of nutrition, no wonder kids have ADHD symptoms. When I was a kid (and we are going back a loooong time) I had ADHD and they put me on Phenobarbitol. My mom, God bless her, did not know that the foods she fed us were crap. I sympathize with parents today who say they work so hard and just don’t have the time to fix their kids meals from scratch. But we find the time for what is important to us and what is more important than your kid.

Leave a Reply

