Gluten Free Baked Goods You Will love!

Taste of Gluten Free Pumpkin Cake and Shortbread cookie Mixes-

I love TOGF’s simple packaging. The mixes come in a bag with a pretty label on the front which includes a picture, instructions and ingredients (5 ingredients).  I was sent a free sample of their gluten free pumpkin cake and shortbread cookies to try. I first tried the pumpkin cake. It could not be simpler to make. You mix eggs, oil and a can of pumpkin and then add the dry ingredients and pour into a 9 inch greased pan. I baked it for about 25 minutes. I also made the recommended cream cheese frosting and spread it on top of the cake after it cooled. A friend and I tried it for dessert and loved it. The pumpkin taste is subtle and you also detect a hint of cinnamon.  Some gluten free cakes are not sweet enough for me but this was perfect. The cream cheese frosting was delicious as well and a really nice compliment to the cake. The next day I brought it into the office and it was really good the next day as well. Everyone who tried it thought it was delicious. Highly recommended!  The shortbread cookies require a little more effort than the cake because you mix the dough and then need to roll it out and cut the cookies with a cookie cutter. But we are talking maybe an extra 5 minutes. I could smell the cookies baking in the oven and could not wait to try them. After they cooled I sprinkled powdered sugar over the top. They are crunchy, buttery and delicious. I love shortbread cookies and these were the bomb. I brought leftovers into the office and everyone was surprised they were gluten free. I guess these days people expect gluten free to taste awful, but we have come a long way in that regard. I will definitely be making these cookies again. The company makes many other cake, cookie and bread mixes, all of which sound yummy. I can’t wait to try their fig cake recipe.

www.tasteofglutenfree.net

 Immaculate Baking Company Gluten Free Chocolate Chunk Cookies:

Immaculate Baking Company now has 2 certified gluten free products in their line. They are dairy free as well. I was sent a coupon to try one of their products and I tried their gluten free chocolate chunk cookies. The cookies come in a bag that you keep in the freezer. What I loved about these cookies is that they are ready to go into the oven. No mixing, no fuss. And if you want to be good and just make yourself one or two cookies at a time (so you don’t eat the whole bag) you can break off one or two.  They come 12 cookies to a bag. I tried baking about 4 to try and they are really good chocolate chip cookies. They are plump and gooey fresh out of the oven and very satisfying. The website suggested using the cookies to make ice cream sandwiches and I had some coconut ice cream in the fridge and decided to give that a try. The cookies really complimented the ice cream…what a delicious treat! They also make gluten free ready to bake brownies.

www.immaculatebaking.com

 Sof’ella  Gluten Free Cornbread:

The folks at Sof’ella sent me a free box of their cornbread mix to try. I LOVE cornbread but I can’t tell you how many times I have made it from scratch and it comes out thin and hard as a rock and too gritty. Their mix is really easy to prepare…a few wet ingredients and the mix and that’s it. Took about 5 minutes to prepare. My mouth was watering when it came out of the oven. Cornbread fresh out of the oven with a pat of butter…what could be better. And this is amazing cornbread! I was really surprised to see freeze dried corn kernels in the mix which, when baked, gives it a nice chewy texture. The cornbread is moist with the perfect texture…..soft and not gritty. It is on the sweet side as well which I like. It freezes well but I guarantee it won’t be around for long. I love this product and give it a big thumbs up. I look forward to trying their chocolate cake and all purpose baking mix as well. They have a recipe for gluten free cornbread stuffing mix and I can’t wait for Thanksgiving to try this.

http://www.sofellafoods.com

This entry was posted in Celiac, Diet, Gluten free, Miscellaneous, Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

